ZYN Class Action Lawsuit – Learn More

Rideshare Driver Requirements in Florida

Under Florida law, drivers for rideshare companies must meet certain qualifications and adhere to specific requirements to legally operate as an employee. Additionally, rideshare companies themselves require their drivers to comply with their own rules and regulations.

Statewide Requirements

During the application process of becoming a rideshare driver, prospective workers must submit to a background check as required by Florida law. A driving history check will also be conducted. If approved, additional background checks are performed every three years. The state will not approve a driver applying to a rideshare company if, through a background check, any of the following are found:

  • A driver has been convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) or a hit-and-run in the last five years.
  • A driver has been convicted of operating a motor vehicle without a license, whether suspended or revoked, in the last three years.
  • A driver does not have a valid vehicle registration or driver’s license.
  • A driver is listed on the public registry of sexual offenders.

Florida also maintains a zero-tolerance policy for rideshare drivers who use drugs or alcohol. If it is suspected that a driver was operating a vehicle under the influence, the company will perform a thorough investigation following an immediate suspension.

Rideshare Company Requirements

Rideshare employers like Uber or Lyft maintain their own policies in addition to the baseline rules set by the state. For example, both companies require their drivers to be of a certain age (21 for Uber, 25 for Lyft) and have had a valid driver’s license for at least one year. They also require photos of the driver to share with passengers.

For Uber programs like Uber LUX, LUX SUV or UberSELECT, drivers must keep a rating of 4.7 or higher after they have driven 100 trips to remain in their selected program. Uber LUX and LUX SUV drivers require a commercial driver’s license (CDL).

Car Specifications

Car specifications, as determined by the rideshare company, differ from city to city and by special programs (e.g., Uber LUX vs. LUX SUV). See the table below for minimum rideshare car regulations that are relatively standard across the state (as of 2022).

Uber Lyft
# of Doors / # of Seats 4 doors, 5 seats 4 doors, 5-8 seats
Model Year 15 years or newer 2010 or newer
Vehicle Exterior No cosmetic damage or commercial branding N/A

Fort Lauderdale Rideshare Accident Attorneys

For more than 70 years, Schlesinger Law Offices, P.A. has been protecting the rights of those injured in car accidents and, more recently, rideshare accidents. With a history of delivering record-setting verdicts, our team has the experience needed to provide you with the legal representation you deserve. If you have been injured in a rideshare accident, do not hesitate to contact us to start on your path toward justice.